New Student Orientation | New Student Programs | SIU

New Student Orientation (NSO) Main Content

For Summer/Fall 2016 Admitted Students, reserve your New Student Orientation date NOW!

New Student Orientation (NSO) is a one-day program for new SIU students and their families and supporters. After NSO, you'll know what to expect on your first day of classes. NSO will make sure you are ready to make the most of your time when you first arrive on campus and throughout your academic career.

If you have a conflict with a date or have a question, please contact New Student Programs at 618-453-1000 or via email at orientation@siu.edu; we'll help you complete your registration.

You chose SIU to become part of something big, to join a challenging yet supportive academic community. New Student Orientation (NSO) is your opportunity to claim your place.


Freshman NSO Dates           Transfer NSO Dates

Saturday, April 23 (Full)                              Friday, April 22
Monday, April 25                                        Thursday, April 28
Friday, April 29                                           Saturday, June 18
Friday, May 20                                           Thursday, July 14
Monday, May 23
Thursday, June 2
Friday, June 3
Thursday, June 16
Friday, June 17
Monday, June 20
Friday, June 24
Saturday, June 25
Friday, July 8
Saturday, July 9
Monday, July 11


For students and family members with disabilities, accommodations can be made for events and programs upon request. Please contact Disability Support Services at 618-453-5738 to discuss your request. 

This is where it begins

Whatever your ambitions, we'll help you get there.

Unparalleled Access

Don’t let anything stop you. Tell us how we can help. 

Contact Us

Phone: (618) 453-1000
Email: orientation@siu.edu
Main Website: nsp.siu.edu



First Things First

Do these things before orientation.

Come prepared.

Before Orientation

Right Sidebar