Orientation
  • Orientation
  • Grey Dawg with student
  • New Student Programs staff
  • College of Liberal Arts
  • SIU Salukis

Main Content

Registration for the Fall 2017 orientation dates will open in February. Please check back here around then to register.

New Student Orientation (NSO) is for new SIU students and their families and supporters. After NSO, you'll know what to expect on your first day of classes. NSO will make sure you are ready to make the most of your time when you first arrive on campus and throughout your academic career.

If you have a conflict with the date or have a question, please contact New Student Programs at 618/453-1000 or via email at orientation@siu.edu.

Registration and NSO Details

Sign-Up for New Student Orientation (NSO) 

View or Modify an existing NSO reservation

You chose SIU to become part of something big, to join a challenging yet supportive academic community. New Student Orientation (NSO) is your opportunity to claim your place.


Freshman NSO Dates for Fall 2017

  • Monday, April 17
  • Friday, April 28
  • Saturday, May 6
  • Friday, May 19
  • Friday, June 2
  • Saturday, June 3
  • Monday, June 26
  • Friday, July 7

Transfer NSO Dates for Fall 2017

  • Monday, April 24
  • Saturday, May 20
  • Friday, June 23
  • Monday, July 10

For students and family members with disabilities, accommodations can be made for events and programs upon request. Please contactDisability Support Servicesat 618-453-5738 to discuss your request.

Staying Overnight

Make it a mini-vacation and stick around after orientation or arrive a day early.

Stay Overnight- Carbondale hotels

First Things First

Do these things before orientation. Come prepared.

Before Orientation

For Families 

The NEW Parent Access is a great way for parents and guardians to view billing, financial aid and registration information.

My SIU

Download the MySIU app and select "SIUC" for the complete guide with specific locations, dates, times, and details during Saluki Startup, Weeks of Welcome, and throughout the year.  Create a personalized schedule of events YOU want to attend, share on Facebook, check out pictures and more.  View Guidebook Flyer.

CLICK HERE to view the official SIU Guidebook home page on your computer with specific event, locations, dates, and times.